Writer and Artist

About David

My first publication was a short story called ‘Bruna, Sustained by an Angel’ which won second prize in the Bridport Arts Short Story Competition in 1987. In 1991 Mainstream published my first novel, ‘The Truth of Stone’. It was short-listed for the 1992 ‘Best Scottish First Book’ prize by the Saltire Society. However, the winner that year was a collection of short stories called ‘Night Geometry and the Garscadden Trains’ by A L Kennedy. Disappointed not to win, I read this collection on the train back to London from Edinburgh and decided that the jury probably got it right.


Several stories have appeared in magazines including ‘Stand’, ‘Edinburgh Review’, ‘Chapman’, ‘New Writing Scotland’ and ‘News from the Republic of Letters’. Some have been selected for inclusion in anthologies such as ‘Best Short Stories’.


‘The Interpretations’ was published in June, 2013. It was well received:

“A tautly written contemporary novel that clearly documents Mackenzie as an especially skilled author able to craft memorable characters and embed them into a riveting story.”

‘The Midwest Book Review’


“MacKenzie’s chilling debut is as much a novel of a small town struggling to retain its identity in rapidly changing times as it is a murder mystery.”

‘Publishers’ Weekly’


“What The Interpretations does very well is to explore complex themes without ever compromising the authenticity of the fictional world. Mackenzie's prose is quiet and unhurried, taking us confidently through the story and brilliantly evoking each different setting, from a fish-packing plant in 1982 to a Soho café in 2000.”

‘The Bottle Imp’